Men’s 12 Stage

In a drastic change from the women’s race, the men’s 12 Stage had a variety leaders throughout most of the stages.

63 teams had entered and they got away on time at 12:00 for this long leg. Stockport’s Ross Millington was first back and as per the women’s race, this proved to be the fastest long leg of the day. Liverpool Harriers were 2nd, Leeds City 3rd. Salford Harriers’ Stuart Robinson limped home with a muscle injury in 31st place, which at least gave his team a good chance to pull places back.

The next 3 stages saw Liverpool Harriers remain in winning position, with Stockport, Trafford and Lincoln Wellington not far behind. By leg 4, Salford had moved into 11th position.

A change in leadership by the end of leg 5 saw Shane Robinson take Lincoln Wellington into the lead, which they held for 2 stages before surrendering to Stockport at the end of leg 7. Holders Sale Harriers remained in the chasing pack, alongside Leeds City and Trafford.

Stockport Harriers retained the lead until the end of leg 10. Behind them, Lincoln Wellington and Salford were respectively 2nd and 3rd during these stages, with Leeds, Liverpool and Hallamshire not far behind.

Eventual winners, Lincoln, moved up one place into 1st thanks to Ryan Page on leg 11. Just behind them, Salford moved up one place into 2nd, Stockport dropped two into 3rd and holders, Sale Harriers continued their late charge and were 4th on this leg.

The glory leg saw no change in the top 6 positions, with Lincoln Wellington’s Thomas Trimble completing leg 12 in 11.37.

1st: Lincoln Wellington AC, 3.11.31
2nd: Salford Harriers, 3.12.15
3rd: Stockport Harriers, 3.13.58
4th: Sale Harriers
5th: Leeds City
6th: Liverpool Harriers

First B team medal winners: Salford Harriers, in 23rd place.

Fastest long leg: Ross Millington, Stockport in 22.27
Fastest short leg: James Bowness, Trafford in 11.04

2nd equal fastest short legs: Tom Lancashire and Richard Weir in 11.12

Report Ken Smith
Photos Eileen Ingham