Congratulations to the 19 athletes from the North who have been selected for the 2012 London Olympics, it is the highlight of their athletics careers and a reward for many years of dedication. All associated with Northern Athletics wish them well and of course Northern Athletics website will be updating performances and results during the competition period.

MEN

400mR Richard Buck City of York AC 800m Michael Rimmer Liverpool Pembroke & Sefton AC 1500m Ross Murray Gateshead Harriers 1500m Andy Baddeley Harrow AC (formerly Wirral AC) 5000m Nick McCormick Morpeth Harriers 3000mSC Stuart Stokes Sale Harriers Manchester Marathon Dave Webb Leeds City AC Long Jump Chris Tomlinson NEB AC (formerly Middlesbrough AC) Shot Carl Myerscough Blackpool, Wyre & Fylde AC Hammer Alex Smith Sale Harriers Manchester Triathlon Alistair Brownlee Bingley Harriers Triathlon Jonathan Brownlee Bingley Harriers

WOMEN

100m Anyika Onuora Liverpool Harriers
1500m Laura Weightman Morpeth Harriers
20KRW Johanna Jackson Middlesborough & Cleveland H
Pole Vault Holly Bleasdale Blackburn Harriers
Hammer Sophie Hitchon Blackburn Harriers
Heptathlon Jessica Ennis City of Sheffield AC
Heptathlon Katarina Johnson-Thompson Liverpool Harriers
Modern Pentathlon Samantha Murray Blackburn Harriers & AC

Northern Officials

In addition to the athletes listed above Several of our officials have also been selected to work both in the stadium and out of stadium. There are also many volunteer roles and the support roles in the athletic arena from the North with these amounting to approximately 100.

Competition Director Chris Cohen (Disability) – Derby Malcolm Rogers – Sheffield

Assistant Technical Directors David Brown – Manchester Finlay Galloway – Rochdale

Meeting Manager Moira Gallagher – Leeds

Technical Manager Chris Wilding – Wirral

Equipment Officer Malcolm Fletcher – Barnsley

Clerks of Course Jan Lishman - Cumbria

Chief Umpire Terry Bailey – Doncaster

Umpires Mike Dooling – Liverpool, Barry Parker – Derby, Margaret Rushton – Bolton, Barbara Goodall – Halifax

Field Referee Dean Williams – Liverpool

Field

David Allen – Rotherham

Janette Murray – Barton upon Humber

Paul Smith – Amber Valley

Arwell Williams – Liverpool

Stuart Hall – Spenborough

Alan Morris – West Cheshire

Julie Herberts – Barnsley

Elaine Williams – Liverpool

Janette Tomlins – Wombwell

Paul Routledge – Coleshill Leicestershire

Jon Mason – Stockport

Sheila Whitta – West Cheshire

Start Coordinator Alan Bell – Carlisle base Starter Gordon Staines - Chesterfield Starter's Assistant Paul Yates - Manchester Assistant Call Room Manager Clive Young – Lincolnshire Call Room Referee David Pryce – Sheffield Bill Courtney – Blaydon Call Room Jeannie Jones – Manchester Christine Courtney – Blaydon Ian Schofield – County Durham Jean Jackson – Dewsbury Linda Schofield – County Durham TIC Malcolm Brookes – E. Yorkshire John Gwyther - Lincolnshire Margaret Brookes - Cheshire Out of Stadium Chief Walking Judge Steve Taylor Manx H Starter David Brown – Manchester Call Room Arwel Williams – Liverpool

Recorders John Driscoll – West Cheshire John Temperton – Dewsbury

TIC Manager Judith Temperton – Dewsbury

Refreshment Station Observer Kevin Carr – Sunderland

Congratulation and good luck to all of you

Gold & Bro Our Olympic Hopes 12 August 2012