Danielle Hodgkinson (Birchfield Harriers) dominated, but clearly did not qualify for the NA championships, being Birmingham based. This allowed Emma Holt (Morpeth Harriers) to win the NA individual gold medal in a time of 17:20, quickly followed some 11 seconds later by Rhiannon Silson (Border Harriers) in 2nd place, with Georgia Campbell (Jarrow & Hebburn) 3rd and also 1st Vet35.

The women’s team race was won by Jarrow & Hebburn: Georgia Campbell, Stephanie Pattinson and Heather Robinson. 2nd team was host club Sunderland Harriers, with Tyne Bridge just taking the bronze medal ahead of Elswick Harriers.

1st: Emma Holt, Morpeth Harriers, 17:20
2nd: Rhiannon Silson, Border Harriers, 17:31
3rd: Georgia Campbell, Jarrow & Hebburn, 17:43

1st team: Jarrow & Hebburn
2nd team: Sunderland Harriers
3rd team: Tyne Bridge

Local knowledgeable and much respected athletics correspondent, Bill McGuirk, predicted a Morpeth win as they had arrived with a very strong team, supported by club president Jim Alder.

Morpeth did not disappoint as last year’s winner, Peter Newton, retained his championship status in a time of 14:43. Dominic Shaw, New Marske, was 2nd and the only non-Morpeth Harrier in the top four. Nick Swinburne was 3rd, with Carl Avery 4th and visiting Salford Harrier, Thomas Cornthwaite, 5th. The statistics of the race had 4 athletes under 15 minutes and a further 23 athletes under 16 minutes.

Morpeth dominated the team race with 8 points. Host club Sunderland Harriers were 2nd with 50 points and Durham City finished 3rd.

1st: Peter Newton, Morpeth Harriers, 14.43
2nd: Dominic Shaw, New Marske, 14.49
3rd: Nick Swinburne, Morpeth Harriers, 14.53

1st team: Morpeth Harriers
2nd team: Sunderland Harriers
3rd team: Durham City

All Northern Athletics medals were presented by NA Trustee, Bill McGuirk.

Report Ken Smith
Photos Eileen Ingham